New computer build!

Laying out for the build.

Laying out for the build.

I build a new computer every three or four years since by then the previous computer would have been hard-pressed to keep up with the newest things. For this build, I upped to the i7 generation with a 920; for the immediate while anything else would be overkill. Along that line, I paired it with 6GB of DDR3 and a Geforce GTX285, as well as a nice shuttle bare-bone comes with the x58. The computer that it replaces is a mutt that I’ve upgraded every now and then.

As you can see in the first picture, these cases are quite small, and being hard-pressed for space lately, I opted to get another one. It is quite a tight squeeze inside though...

As you can see in the first picture, these cases are quite small, and being hard-pressed for space lately, I opted to get another one. It is quite a tight squeeze inside though...

I never noticed when I was looking for parts, but the GTX285 is a dual-slot monster. It fit in my case with only centimeters to spare.

I never noticed when I was looking for parts, but the GTX285 is a dual-slot monster. It fit in my case with only centimeters to spare.

The optical and disk drives go in a rack that you can also see in the first picture. Another problem with the size is the wiring, but shuttle does a decent job of routing them through the case.

The optical and disk drives go in a rack that you can also see in the first picture. Another problem with the size is the wiring, but shuttle does a decent job of routing them through the case.

Out with the old, in with the new! My completed new build next to my old PC. Although it might not be apparent, Shuttle small-form-factor cases are actually quite reliable; never had a failure so far. Only problem is the amout of heat it throws out, especially during the summer.

Out with the old, in with the new! My completed new build next to my old PC. Although it might not be apparent, Shuttle small-form-factor cases are actually quite reliable; never had a failure so far. Only problem is the amout of heat it throws out, especially during the summer.

Well that’s about all I have right now. The parts were bought from NCIX and I got some deals that dropped parts prices a bit but it still came out to ~$1700 CDN. Good thing this will last me a few years without any serious slowdowns. Oh and luddite that I am, I installed Windows XP x64 edition; not that I hate Vista as much as I like XP and internet to the contrary, it runs stable.

~ by Taku on September 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
